About us      |      Events      |      News      |      Statistics      |      Legislation      |      Contact Us                  
Teens >   
Parents >   
Community >   
Counselors and educators >   
Alcohol merchants >   
Donate >   
Resources >   
   Join our email list
    Enter your email address
     
     

Human
Performance
Project

PPC Meeting Dates
Parent resources
Underage drinking laws

Nebraska state statute 53.180.02: No one under the age of 21 may possess, consume or have physical control of alcohol. Nebraska state laws allow judges the following penalty options for minors convicted of minor in possession (MIP) and minor having consumed (MHC). Judges have the authority to deliver any or all the following penalties:

First offense Maybe require a 30-day driver’s license suspension under Nebraska’s “Use And Lose” law
Maybe be required to attend an Alcohol education class
Fine up to $500
Second offense May have a Three-month driver’s license suspension
Maybe be required to attend an Alcohol education class 20 to 40 hours of community service
Third or greater offenses May have a One-year driver’s license suspension
Maybe be required to attend an Alcohol education class 60 or more hours of community service
Alcohol assessment by a licensed drug and alcohol counselor


Nebraska State Statute 53.180. Contributing to the delinquency of a minor is a Class I misdemeanor. Providing alcohol to persons under the age of 21 is considered a violation of this statute.

A class I misdemeanor is the most severe misdemeanor charge in Nebraska. Being charged with this class of crime could result in a $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

Also, those who buy alcohol for a minor who then becomes intoxicated and kills someone, accident or otherwise, is liable. This could cost the purchaser procuring the alcohol millions.
Statistics you should know
How to talk to your teen

Signs that your teen is using

Social hosting laws

Underage drinking laws

Risks of underage drinking

Health consequences

Athletes

Change pledge


Social Host Law


Contributing to a Minor Law

Is supported in whole or part, by federal or state funds received from Region 1 Behavioral Health Authority, the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Division of Behavioral Health and Tobacco Free Nebraska Program as a result of the Tobacco Master Settlement Agreement and the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).


Teen     |      Parents     |      Community     |      Counselors/Educators     |      Alcohol merchants
About us     |      Events     |      News     |      Statistics     |      Legislation     |      Contact us

Donate     |      Members only

© 2011 Panhandle Prevention Coalition